I just ate a pint of Ben&Jerry’s in under 30 minutes.

I have decided to (temporarily) stop drinking alcohol for an unspecified amount of time. I was going to take it a week at a time, but have decided that I should go at least two weeks, if not more. I feel like I need a bigger goal to shoot for though; I just haven’t decided what that’s going to be yet. I’m thinking maybe shoot for Halloween weekend? I’ve got some good friends coming up to visit and that would deserve a good celebratory drink, don’t ya think? Any suggestions?

I went out to a bar for the first time since deciding not to drink (a whopping 3 days ago) and found it to still be a fairly pleasurable experience. I had a few Shirely Temples (which are super cheap), got to watch other people become increasingly more intoxicated throughout the night and therefore act sillier and sillier as time went on (I love people watching),  and got hit on 3 times. Apparently I’m more attractive when I’m not drinking an alcoholic beverage or drunk. Who knew?

Love Parade is coming up, which means there will be a pretty big temptation to drink, but I plan on being pretty resistent. There are also a few other usually alcoholic influenced nights that I’m looking forward to going to that might also tempt me to drink… but I’m positive I can do this, despite the nay-sayers. I’ll show you!

Of course, I could totally crash and burn come Saturday… 😉 I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

2 Responses to “I just ate a pint of Ben&Jerry’s in under 30 minutes.”


  1. 1 sarah October 3, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    i say go for it amy. i should do this too.

    cold turkey

  2. 2 Carissa October 7, 2008 at 2:21 am

    I say you both are crazy people, and I also say I TOLD YA SO! xoxo


Leave a comment