I’m officially a quarter century old! Woot!

Taken from Sedaratives, a monthly advice column written by Amy Sedaris for The Believer.

Dear Amy,

I’ve been single for about a year now, after a long-term relationship fizzled. All of a sudden, I’m starting to get those codependency urges again. So what’s the problem? Simple: I like my independence and the fact that I don’t have to answer to anyone. Especially since I’m a graphic-design major with absolutely no time for a boyfriend. What would you suggest I do to suppress these unwanted feelings without the use of pills or alcohol?

—Looking for an Out Without Slipping In

Dear Slippy,

What’s wrong with pills and alcohol? Are you judging me? It kills the pain. I hate it when people start spewing bullshit like, “You’re going to have to deal with it sooner or later.” Well, not really, because by the time “later” comes, my problem will be over because of the booze and pills. I’m not stupid.

Are you selling any pills?

Amy

1 Response to “I’m officially a quarter century old! Woot!”



  1. 1 World Wide News Flash Trackback on June 23, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Leave a Reply

