Aw, shucks.

So I have this friend and she’s gorgeous, and not only is she beautiful on the outside, but she’s also a big sweetheart. When we’re hanging out we make quite a timid, shy pair. I think this is mostly my fault. Regardless of the fact that I’ve known her for a few years now and that she’s such a sweet person, I find her completely intimidating. She’s tall, I’m short. She’s thin, I’m curvy. She’s well kept and put together and I’m…well, not.  And she totally accepts me just the way I am and I her, and yet, I’m still intimidated.

All of my friends are beautiful, but she is the only one I feel inadequate around. I haven’t figured out why it’s like this. Beautiful people have always intimidated me; I never feel comfortable around them. Maybe this is because I’ve never felt like I was or could be one of them? And now that I’m older and I’m out of that whole high school class system, you’d think I wouldn’t be so intimidated…but I still am. It’s kind of pathetic actually, the more I think about it anyway.

So this friend recently asked me to be a bridesmaid and I wholeheartedly accepted. Because of this little arrangement, we’ve been hanging out more, and the more we hang out, the more we both open up and the less intimidated I’ve become, which is fantastic (I’m finally comfortable eating in front her!). I’ve come to realize the older I get, the more comfortable I become in my own skin. While this friendship has been a (worthwhile) challenge for me, I’ve come to realize that I am just as beautiful as this friend, just in a different way (at least that’s what I’m telling myself).

Really though, I enjoy getting older. I feel as though I only get better with age–smarter, funnier, prettier. It’s a win-win situation for me so far. And this particular ladies friendship has done nothing but help. 25 is bound to be an amazing year for me. I can feel it and I’m excited.

Everyone is beautiful in their own way; sometimes it’s just a matter of realizing it.

0 Responses to “Aw, shucks.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

