Question! Tell me how you feel about this.

I have a confession to make. I, “goodnight, rose” am an addict. Or, as one of my best friends puts it, I’m “secretly chocolate”. I love pop and hip hop music–you know, the “hits”. Catchy, ready-made, pop music. The abhorrent, vapid lyrics. The auto-tuning. I love it all. And I can’t stop listening to it! Taylor Swift, Jason Derulo, Rihanna, Jay-Z, Lady Ga-Ga, TI.  In the car all I seem to listen to is 93.3FM or (my new favorite) Z90.3FM (San Diego’s Number One Hip Hop Station, for your information.) I shake my hips in the car and sing at the top of my lungs. I know, completely out of character, right? Or maybe it’s not…

It’s gotten so bad that when I’m home and don’t feel like listening to my iPod, I log onto Pandora…and guess what kind of “stations” I’ve created? That’s right, “Rhianna” and (I can’t believe I’m about to admit this,) “Destiny’s Child”! Yes. I’m serious. So now I get to listen to Mya, TLC and the like as well; the shit they don’t play on the radio anymore. I then proceed to dance around my house and sing along. (Yes, I admit, I have far too much time I my hands these days.)

I used to pride myself on being a music snob. Searching for obscure, unknown bands, being the “first” to introduce them to my friends, or maybe just hoarding them for myself; and now here I am…listening to Beyonce. Does this make me a bad person? I’m hoping it just makes me multi-faceted. I just can’t help myself, OK?! Sheesh. It could be worse, right? I could be hiding chocolate bars under my bed or shooting up heroine. And I’m not doing either of those things, I’m simply listening to pop music.

And for your viewing and listening pleasure, I leave you with this:

(I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. It’s one of my fading favorites at the moment.)

2 Responses to “Question! Tell me how you feel about this.”


  1. 1 frank reynolds December 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    you are a bad, bad person! WWSBLT? or, what would sam beam listen to? (he’s the closest thing i have to jesus in my filthy life)

    actually, that’s not really how i feel at all. but i had to give you a hard time.

    the truth is, we all deserve a few guilty pleasures. one of mine happens to be bad movies. i’m highly (literally) entertained by them, and i masochistically enjoy suffering through them. ya, so i watched 2012 without a gun to my head or my eyelids stapled open. it happens!

    so enjoy your mind numbing, auto-tuned, elementary nonsense. life is too short to be serious all the time…

    “We’re fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance.” ~Japanese Proverb

  2. 2 goodnightrose December 30, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks for the support, Frank. I appreciate it. And thanks for the proverb–I like it! “Iron & Wine” is still my favorite Pandora station.


Leave a Reply

