If sin is so terrible, why is it so good?

For whatever reason I’ve been watching a lot of terrible movies lately. It’s almost as if these movies find me and force me to watch them. It’s torturous. So for those of you who have seen these, let me know what you think of them. And for those of you who haven’t, avoid them at all costs!

The Edge of Love– I guess I  just figured that you can’t go too wrong with a movie that stars both Keira Knightley and Sienna Miller? Plus that very attractive dude from the only “scary” movie I’ve liked (28 Days Later) is in it–what’s his him? Cillian Murphy! Anyway, the whole thing was absolutely terrible. Don’t waste your time. By the way, there’s also a sex scene that involves Knightley and you see her naked top half; the woman has no boobies–looks like a man!

Sunshine Cleaning– This was definitely a case where the previews were completely misleading. The movie as a whole was slow, choppy and disingenuous. I almost didn’t even want to finish watching it.

Only You– I honestly can’t even tell you why I chose to watch this. It was probably a Friday night where I was bored out of my mind, but was too lazy to come up with anything better to do. Anyway, maybe I have a thing for Robert Downey Jr. or something? His character was OK, but his costar, Marisa Tomei played the most annoying character in the world. I could not stand to hear her speak by the end of the film. Billy Zane is also in the film, which kind of cracked me up because everytime I think of Billy Zane, I think of his bit part in Zoolander. So bad, it’s good. Not this film, just Billy Zane.

So there you have it. Avoid all of these films, if possible. Read a book instead. And if you happen to watch them anyway, don’t say I didn’t try to warn you.

I have seen one noteworthy movie in the last couple months that you should rent if you have the chance– Wristcutters: A Love Story. I don’t want to go into any detail about it, because I prefer that you just watch it. The soundtrack is pretty great too if you’re into Gogol Bordello.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Thank you and goodnight.

“I don’t mean to seem like I care about material things like a social status/I just want four walls and adobe slabs for my girls.”

1 Response to “If sin is so terrible, why is it so good?”


  1. 1 Belinda October 22, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    LOVE Gogol Bordello! I saw them accidentally one night at the Warfield a few years ago. They were opening for some band I’d paid too much money to see and now can’t remember the name of. But I remember Gogol Bordello! Woo-hoo!

    Thanks for the heads-up on “Sunshine Cleaning.” I’ve been toying with the idea of renting it. Now I won’t! Yay! 😉


Leave a Reply

