(I can’t get no) Satisfaction.

I’m so easily distracted by the internet, it’s scary. I sit here on my lappy, with the intention of writing a paper, or even a blog and suddenly I need to check my email instead. Which then prompts me to check my Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, various blogs, bookmarks, etc. It’s never ending; and it’s terrible. Do you remember the days before the internet?! I do. And I remember getting along just fine; although, I was about 10 or 12 at the time…What about before the whole MySpace craze, which then turned into the Facebook craze? How in the world did we stalk eachother before then?! Did we really pick up the telephone and call to check up on eachother instead of reading a “status update” or a “profile comment”? It’s crazy to think about, especially since this whole networking site craze just blew up within the last 5 years or so. Five years ago, I could care less about checking my email, much less checking it at least 3 or more times a day. Five years ago I think I had better things to do and different priorities.  Today, I can’t live without the internet. It’s a blessing and a curse.

On one hand, having moved away from my hometown, the internet helps me stay connected to those I no longer get to see as frequently as I might like. I can see pictures and videos of birthdays I’ve missed, babies I have yet to meet and general goings-on that I used to be a part of. There’s also the convenience factor–you might be at work, doing homework, etc. and you can just quickly check and see what everyone is up to. And on the other, maybe this whole technological phenomenon is just dehumanizing. Maybe it would be better getting pictures in the mail? Hearing a voice over the line? Seeing someone in person? Generally speaking, I know what most of my friends (and family) are up to and I don’t even have to actually talk to them! Does this worry anyone else?

Good or bad, it’s a slippery slope.

1 Response to “(I can’t get no) Satisfaction.”


  1. 1 Unblock Myspace March 8, 2009 at 4:13 am

    Internet is always scary try to focus on onething at a moment.


Leave a Reply

